Pakistan to carry legislative meeting polls in PoK on July 25

Spread the love


ISLAMABAD: Pakistan-occupied Kashmir’s high election official introduced on Thursday to carry the final election for the legislative meeting on July 25, regardless of appeals to postpone the polls for 2 months as a result of risk of resurgence of the coronavirus.

Final 12 months, Pakistan carried out the legislative meeting election in Gilgit-Baltistan.

India had slammed Pakistan for its determination to carry elections in Gilgit-Baltistan and mentioned any motion to change the standing of the militarily-occupied area has no authorized foundation.

India has additionally clearly conveyed to Pakistan that your complete Union territories of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh, together with the areas of Gilgit and Baltistan, are an integral a part of the nation.

Chief Election Commissioner Justice (retd.) Abdul Rashid Sulehria unveiled the schedule for the elections at a press convention in Muzaffarabad, capital of Pakistan-occupied Kashmir (PoK).

“The folks of Kashmir (PoK) will use their proper to vote on July 25 for good governance,” mentioned Sulehria, who’s head of the PoK election fee.”

He mentioned that the candidates can submit their nomination papers until June 21 and the ultimate record will probably be launched on July 3.

The elections will probably be held to elect 45 representatives of the legislative meeting, together with 33 in PoK and 12 for Kashmiri migrants, ARY information reported.

“4 constituencies have been enhanced on this election,”” Sulehria mentioned.

Paramilitary Rangers and police together with civil administration will probably be deployed through the polls to allow over 28 lakh eligible voters to solid their franchise.

Earlier, the Nationwide Command and Operation Heart (NCOC) had urged for suspending the election in PoK for 2 months as a result of risk of resurgence of the coronavirus however the identical was rejected by all Opposition events.

The final normal election for PoK Legislative Meeting was held in July 2016 and received by Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz led by former prime minister Nawaz Sharif.


Spread the love


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here