Monday, April 19, 2021
HomeIndiaHeavy safety deployment for first part of West Bengal Meeting polls

Heavy safety deployment for first part of West Bengal Meeting polls

KOLKATA: Considering that elections in West Bengal have been traditionally marred by violence, a complete of 732 firms of Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) have been deployed within the state for the primary part of elections, confirmed Vivek Dubey, Particular Police Observer.

Thirty seats go to the polls within the first part and embody all constituencies in Purulia and Jhargram and a few seats from Bankura, Purba Medinipur and Paschim Medinipur districts.

Each Trinamool Congress and BJP have usually accused one another of killing their get together cadres. The BJP has accused the Trinamool Congress authorities of the homicide of over 130 get together staff.

As a consequence of the potential of violence, elections are being held in eight-phases for 294-member Meeting.

Within the first part, Kathi Uttar-Vaja Chawli, Pataspur, Khejuri, Saltora, Raipur, Lalgarh, Jhargram, Salboni, Garhbeta, Balarampur and Kashipur are the delicate areas.

The state had reportedly witnessed practically 700 instances of violence through the 2019 Lok Sabha polls.

Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora and Deputy Election Commissioner Sudip Jain had on Tuesday reviewed ballot preparedness forward of the primary part.

The primary part of polling will resolve the electoral destiny of 191 candidates together with 21 girls. Some distinguished names within the first part of polling embody Srikanto Mahato, Rajib Lochan Saren and Uttam Barik of TMC and Rabindranath Maity, Chandana Bauri and Rajib Kundu from BJP.

Congress has fielded 5 candidates for the primary part – Nepal Mahato from Baghmundi, Shiu Maiti from Bhagabanpur, Uttam Banerjee from Balarampur, Manas Kumar Karmahapatra from Egra and Partha Pratim Banerjee from Purulia.

TMC had gained 27 out of those 30 seats within the 2016 elections and BJP was not a serious participant within the final polls. Nonetheless, the get together has gained in energy previously 5 years and has emerged as the primary challenger to the ruling get together which has gained two successive meeting polls.

The BJP gained 18 seats within the 2019 Lok Sabha elections towards 22 gained by the TMC. Congress had gained two seats going to the polls within the first part and Revolutionary Socialist Occasion (RSP) had gained one seat.

Elections to the 294-member state meeting might be held in eight phases ranging from March 27 with the ultimate spherical of voting going down on April 29. The counting of votes will happen on Might 2. 

Leave a Reply

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments

%d bloggers like this: